top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelegallytanisha

Day in the Life of Shadowing a Criminal Barrister.

I was incredibly lucky to gain in-person legal work experience during the current pandemic thanks to 25 Bedford Row’s Jeremy Dein QC. I shadowed Jeremy in a two-day serious firearm sentencing.


I really enjoy studying criminal law in a classroom setting, but there’s nothing like seeing the live action play-by-play in court. Applying your knowledge and statutes to real life situations, with real people who have their own lives and stories will forever be unbeaten. Criminal law will always be my favourite area of the law, and one I wish to practice. Not for the theatrics and drama of the court room, though I admit this to be a great part of it. But for its personality. Speaking with the defendant’s family, and getting to know them for one, but also the clerks, the caseworkers and all the people involved with the inner workings of a criminal trial is what makes it so great.


The night before the first day of sentencing I familiarised myself with the defendant’s sentencing mitigation, and the prosecution’s during the beginning of his opening. This was very important in terms of understanding the counts, and what points were going to be submitted by both advocates. I found that reading up on the sentencing guidelines prior to going into court was extremely beneficial in terms of it helping me understand the defendant’s level of culpability and attributed harm. Before this work experience, I have only had experience shadowing during the trials itself, so actually watching the sentencing and the closing of a case was very helpful. In many ways it has completed the picture of my understanding as to the procedures of a criminal trial.


Over the period of the two-days, what I found incredibly useful was speaking with Jeremy and the caseworker. I was able to discuss any predictions I had as to what I thought the outcome of the case may have been. But also discussing things beyond the case itself, such as, pupillage applications and studying law during a pandemic. A common theme within the criminal justice system which I have realised during my experience is that there is a lot of waiting around, which is undoubtably increased by the virus. An already heavily procedural system has just had a whole bunch of more checks thrown onto it. This has put stress on the courts, the barristers and caseworkers, the prisons and its staff, individuals waiting for trial and their families. However, the criminal justice system and everyone who makes it what it is, never fails to be short of anything but spectacular, and immensely hard working in wanting the best for their clients and the preservation of justice. Criminal barristers will always be akin to superheroes for me and I can’t wait till the day I can say I’m a part of the team.


This like all of my other legal work experience in criminal law has confirmed one thing over and over again. I want to become a criminal barrister!





244 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page