top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelegallytanisha

Why Law?

Updated: May 14, 2020

You know that line Professor Callahan says in 'Legally Blonde?' You know, the one that goes, 'Do you think she just woke up one morning and said: I think I'll go to law school today.' That's literally it. No long winded reason, no 'from a young age I was fascinated by the legal world,' no soppy story. As I am sure you'll find out, I get most of my ideas from movies and TV. It just so happens that this idea set out my career.


I've always been one to stick to things I put my mind too. So the day I woke up, and said 'I think I'll go to law school,' has stuck out till now. I should probably say where I am in my journey, but I'll get to that soon. Anyways, how it all began. It's a cliche I know, but I like helping people; it makes me feel good. And why not be stuck in a job that makes you feel good. Where I went wrong is that I believed the only way I could help people was by literally fixing them. This is where I met my soon-to-be 'smack in the face,' medicine. For years, I convinced myself that I loved science, just so one day I could get the satisfaction of helping people. Well, long story short, that didn't go to plan. I didn't believe in failing, but for the first time in my life, I did. I failed at my first dream. With that came the depression, and the anxiety. But fast forward a couple days from failure and I'm watching 'Suits.'


'Suits' is cool; helps that the characters are good-looking, but, more than that I lived for the drama. I stayed up that entire night. Had a couple hours of sleep, but when woke up I said those very famous words. Come on, you should know them by now. Say it with me...' I think I'll go to law school.' My mind was set, and now literally nothing can change it; you'd have to hit me with a truck. It makes a good story over drinks. People ask, 'whose your ex?' I respond, 'Medicine.' 'So who are you with now?' I say, 'Law, I think we may get married soon.'


I'm sure by now you know that when I stick my mind to something, that's all I see. So when I got stuck on law I devoted every moment to it. I did work experience, volunteered all over the place, read a library, but the best thing that could've happened to me was I had a mentor. As you could imagine, when I broke up with Medicine, it took my confidence and self-belief with it. I was left, not being able to speak in front of crowds as I once did. Hell, I couldn't even look a people in the eye for long enough. That why I say, asking out law was the best choice I ever made. That decision led me on to meet people who didn't just build me back up, but built me stronger. You're now talking to Tanisha 2.0.


I almost forgot, I promised to tell you where I am currently in my journey. I've made it passed the dreaded UCAS applications, and got into the truly amazing, Queen Mary University of London. I study alongside an incredibly intelligent cohort, and honestly don't see myself anywhere else. It a tough journey, and I know it'll only get harder. But I'm not in the toxic relationship I was once in. You see, myself and the law, we get each other. I'll hate it at times, and want to break up; but, I know it has my back.




88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page